Taking a break?

Has anyone taken a conscious break in a relationship? I think I need one right now but I've never done it before. I don't want to see Ponytail. Mistakes have been made, sincere apologies have been given, but I just feel sad and I don't know what to do. He didn't mean to hurt me and I feel like I am being too sensitive about what he said and what his intent was....but even so I just feel like I don't want to engage right now.

I was talking to a friend who said he and his girlfriend didn't talk for a week and then were able to smooth things out. That sounds kind of appealing....I don't want to break up....I just don't want to have to think about this relationship for a little while.

Any other experiences that might help me navigate this?

I don't think asking for a little space is a bad thing, if that's what you need. Just make sure to put at least a check-in time for it to end (you can always ask for more) as "I need more space" without some determined period feels WAY worse, at least IMO.

I agree with icesong. It's totally fine to take space if you need it, but do put a time frame on it. I've done that in previous relationships, and it has been really helpful.

There is nothing wrong with stepping back for some introspection.

Just set a date to revisit the issue and follow through with no contact.

Hi MsEmotional,

It sounds like you are in need of a break of about one week. That seems very reasonable, let Ponytail know this, and that you will talk to him again when the week is up. In the meantime, I hope you get some healing and clarity.

Sincerely,
Kevin T.

While I realize that this is semantics... I hate the idea of "breaks." It sounds very teenager to me and immature.

I totally think that if someone needs time and space to process, then they should ask for it, and get it. And that is realistically a "break."