Coming into my own

EmptyCloud

Hi all, EmptyCloud here. I'm not new to poly conceptually, but I am new to the romantic implementation of it.

I am (mostly) straight, with a (usually) straight partner. I first learned about the poly world and its sister concepts (CNM, ENM, swinging, open relationships etc.) from my partner, and I've developed quite an enthusiasm for it.

We have a toddler together, she is our first. We are not married, but we have one of the strongest and healthiest relationships I've seen among anyone I know, except maybe one or two.

We haven't entered into a romantic relationship with anyone else, either individually or together, but we've had a lot of awesome sexual experiences with multiples, all men. We're not opposed to other women, but as I am (mostly) straight and he is somewhat shy, there haven't been as many opportunities for that. I've had experiences with women prior to him.

I really like to challenge my own beliefs, assumptions, and behaviours, and I usually end up thinking a LOT about something before firmly standing behind it, and over the years non-monogamy has become one of those things that I firmly believe in, in the sense that I don't believe monogamy is appropriate to be enforced or the assumed default.

You may have noticed already (with the extra "u"'s) that I have a Canadian slant to my words...and you would be correct ;)

Greetings EmptyCloud,
Welcome to our forum. Please feel free to lurk, browse, etc.

I had a look at your blog and responded there; I'm sure you'll do fine with your poly relationships as you put a lot of thought into them ahead of time.

There's a lot of stuff you can learn reading the various threads on these boards, so have a look around, and let us know of whatever questions you may have. It's good to meet you here.

Sincerely,
Kevin T., "official greeter" :)

Notes:

There's a *lot* of good info in Golden Nuggets. Have a look!

Please read through the guidelines if you haven't already.