New to Poly Relationships, Looking for Advice

Drakkaras

Hello all,

This is the first time I've ever posted here. I'm new to poly relationships (been dabbling for the last 6 months or so). I'm male and currently married to my amazing wife, who I have known for the last 10 years. The poly relationships we are currently developing are with another M/F couple, who have about 5-6 years of experience functioning as a poly couple. At this time, my wife and the other woman share a full relationship, without any emotional, physical, or sexual restrictions. They are able to express their feelings for each other openly, and have been sexual both in and out of my presence.

My concerns arise due to the nature of my relationship with the woman in the other couple. While the basis for her relationship with my wife is mostly physical attraction, she and I share a VERY strong emotional connection. We have similar backgrounds, similar life stories, and similar personalities. In the 10 years I have spent with my wife up to this point, this is the first time I have felt such a strong connection to another woman, and absolutely the first time I have fostered it and allowed it to grow. I have made it very clear that I am interested in building a relationship with her, and she feels the same towards me.

Over the last 6 months, I have done a lot of personal growth in regards to my self-esteem and confidence, which has really helped me to be open to my wife being involved in relationships with other people. At this point, I am open to my wife being in a relationship with the man in this couple. They are both very clearly attracted to each other, and they have both stated they would like to pursue such a relationship. But here's the problem: the man in the other couple has never before been open to his wife being physically involved with another man.