Functions, Events, holidays, and etc

Gria2004

Hi I would like to know how people handle functions, get-togethers, family functions, and work related events. Plus one events like grand parties, weddings, birthdays, holidays, and etc? I'm new to a Polly relationship that could become serious as he called me his girl today and his wife wants me as a girlfriend.

Hi Gria2004,

I think a lot depends on whether you're "in the closet" or "out to the world." I am in a V and we are mostly in the closet. Technically my two companions are the legally lawfully wedded couple, I am "just a friend." Or adopted family, but with no mention of the romantic/sexual relationship I have with the lady of the house. So, work functions are handled with that illusion in mind. The legally lawfully wedded husband and wife go to work parties together while I stay home. That's the price of keeping our secret, and I've gotten used it. (Truth be told, I like having the house to myself.)

All three of us may go together to attend family get-togethers, but there are no PDA's between the lady and me. Compare to she and I going to the grocery store together, where we may do PDA's.

If you get together with this couple and become a triad with them, make sure they treat you fairly, okay?

Sincerely,
Kevin T.

Well my partners and I are all out, so it's more of a crapshoot as to who goes to what. Most of the time, they don't have the same interests, and as introverts, they're not exactly clamoring to go to a work function! Holidays and family get togethers, well, we host a lot, so all my partners are there. If DarkKnight's family has something, then I go with him, and if PunkRock's family has something, I go there too. The extended families have more or less accepted us as a unit, but we've not had any events where my other partner wanted to attend. They'd rather stay home and do anything else, honestly. Who wants to make small talk with people who are only tolerant of you? Not these guys.