Lost in Love

threesaparty

Hello all,

I am new to this lifestyle and community, but have been aware and accepting of polyamory for many years. I wanted to introduce myself and ask some advice on what works for you, in hopes of finding a path for myself and my partner. Polyamory is clearly not a one-size-fits-all application, and I want to reach out to others who have been in my situation to hear what's been helpful and successful.

Long and Complicated Story Short
My partner and I have recently decided to open up our 2.5 year monogamous relationship after she came to me (throughout a series of months and discussions) and asked to open our relationship. Originally, we opened to bringing someone else into our play time, but to pursue interests strictly as a couple. We approached 1-2 potential females, but never pursued them enough to make it happen (despite interests all around) mostly due to difficult scheduling. Then last week, after another man asked my partner on a date and she felt attracted to him outside of our relationship, we discussed the matter. After a lot of emotions and negotiations, we decided that we would open the relationship and structure our rules and system to mediate our needs and desires in a way that could make us both happy without compromising our love or the best relationship either of us has ever had.