Declining potential advances, demisexual

Skynet

I'm new to poly, having entered into a relationship with a poly man. While this is something I wouldn't mind exploring for myself, I am demisexual, and as such, cannot experience sexual attraction without a deep emotional bond with someone.

I've been told by my partner that it will not be unusual if some of the people in his circle end up hitting on me/making advances. I don't want to come off as "oh, no, I'm not interested in YOU," and cause hurt feelings, nor do I want them to assume I'm mono because I currently have no other partners and am not actively seeking any.

What's the best way you can think of to deal with this if/when it comes up? His friends/the people in his poly circle are new people in my life and it could be months or years before I feel close enough to any of them to feel sexual attraction. I get the feeling the "you're hot, want to go out sometime?" mentality is strong, and I don't want to offend, but the answer is probably going to be, "no, thank you" for a long time.

'No, thank you' is completely sufficient. You owe no one any explanations. And if they are offended by a polite rejection, that is a very strong indication you do not want to date them ever.

If you get to a point of feeling attraction later on, I suggest asking them out at that point.

Hi Skynet,

I totally agree with opalescent, "No, thank you" is perfectly adequate ... or even, "Not at this time, thanks anyway." You can always ask that person out later if you become interested in them.

Regards,
Kevin T.

You have a tremendous sympathy from me in this.

And I have explained it to many men that I've met in the last couple of years. I think that they were surprised to hear it the way I spoke it and they understood.