spirituality and polyamory

Shaya

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the concept of polyamory and currently it intrigues me deeply.

As a disclaimer, I identify with atheism myself. I get the feeling that within the population of people who identify as practitioners of polyamory (even if currently monogamous), there is a higher proportion of those who would identify with astrology, crystals, paganism or polytheistic belief systems.

Do others here agree with this statement or not? If so, why do you feel this is so?

As a warning please, this question was asked in this thread with a range of responses and then got sidetracked with an argument over the word spirituality. I don't want this thread to get sidetracked on definitions please. Personally, I feel that Magdylyn provided the answer that rang truest with me, and was surprised no one echoed it. I want to know what others think about her answer:

So, to sum up, you feel that polyamorists in general, are either atheist, agnostic, or have created an individualistic spiritual practice, rather than following a prescribed model of a ready-made religion.

Since poly people are going against the grain, the norm of our monogamist society, in their love-style, they also seem to have a propensity to not blindly follow a mainstream religion that endorses monogamy.

Makes sense.

IsidoreNabi also said something that made sense to me. He points out that there may be a reporting bias in surveys of this nature because those in monotheistic religions may be secretly poly but would be less likely to list polyamory on a survey because polyamory could be considered sinful.

It's possible that polyamorists who belong to formal, traditional religions simply don't identify themselves as poly, but rather as sinners, and engage in clandestine polyamory and whatever form of self-loathing and self-punishment their religions prescribe.

What do you guys think?