Polyamory and STD's

brunsbane

Hello, this is my first time posting.

This is NOT about whether or not STD's are more prevalent in the poly community, because from what I've read STD's are pretty much equal within both poly and mono communities. That being said...

I have herpes and am new to the poly lifestyle. I've had it for the past 8 years of my life. It is always hard to come out and tell people about it, although I am ALWAYS up front and honest about it before sex. It hasn't been a huge issue in the mono community. But now that I'm poly and I am looking to date other people with multiple partners, I am worried that it will not be as accepted because they won't want to limit their choices if they catch it, and they obviously have to worry about the health of others. I am wondering if anyone with experience in this type of situation would feel comfortable sharing their stories with me? It is not something I tell my friends, because they don't need to know. But I do need to talk to someone. Thanks in advance.

Much like the mono community-some people take issue with it and some don't.
I've had people who didn't give a rip and others who refused to have sex with anyone in our circle because I have herpes (none of my previous partners in poly have it).

Oh herpes.