Probably not polyamory??

globalodonata

Last year I started a new course, as a mature student I was and am really looking to re-direct the course of my life. I have a lot of responsibilities and I am hopeful that the course, which is vocational and health based will give me the tools I need.

I was delighted when I started to make a bunch of new friends and in particular meet one person (who I will refer to as Sam). Unfortunately within the first few months I had split up with my long term partner which impacted somewhat on my studies. Then a few months later one of my parents was diagnosed with terminal cancer.

The day that I found out coincided with mine and Sam’s joint birthday celebration. We went out and I got pretty drunk. Sam told me that they found me attractive and that they and their partner (Jo) of several years both wanted a relationship with me. One thing led to another and I ended up leaving early feeling thoroughly confused and full of anxiety. The next day I met with them both and they explained how things were totally cool and that they had been looking into polyamory and wondered if I could be someone they welcomed into their relationship.

For obvious reasons this was still somewhat overwhelming and I said that whilst I was open to such things this was incredibly bad timing for me and that I would need to take things forward very slowly, if at all.

From this point onwards they both put a lot of effort into spending time with me and generally being supportive.

From the outset even though Sam and his partner told me they wanted me to be part of their relationship, it was clear that Sam had issues with me spending time with Jo just by myself. Some rules were put in place early such as no kissing unless everyone was present but, that didn’t extend to Sam themselves and they and I had several dates and nights together.