Hi , I'm Luke, from Bristol!

Grassroots

Hi Everyone, I'm Luke, from Bristol (UK)- Looking forward to using this forum and maybe making some friends :) I am a 23 year old gay male, I'm currently studying on my last year of an illustration degree.

I would like to give some information about my current situation, partially to vent, partially see if anybody has anything they'd like to comment on.

I have been in a relationship for 3 years with my partner- somebody I love deeply and who I hope I will stay with for the forseeable future. We have been in a sexually open relationship ( having sexual encounters with other people, without a romantic element) for about a year and a half. It has so far worked very well for us- He is a sound engineer and works abroad a lot with bands, sometimes for long periods, and I recently studied for 4 months in Austria.

Recently though I've had some problems- we went a away on holiday for a few days recently and found we didn't have a much to talk about a lot of the time... partially I think this is because despite caring immensly about each other there are significant aspects of our lives we struggle to engage each other on- I can't be a conversational equal on his topics of interest (music, tech..) and he can't on mine ( politics,art ) etc. Sometimes I also feel awkward sexually, as if everything is a bit too familiar ( like being intimate with a family member?!... Unsure if anybody else has had that feeling in an LTR before!)

The second big issue is- I've met up with someone on a couple dates and am beggining to feel very attracted to them, having quite intense feelings, and like I could potentially want a relationship with them at some point. I guess partially this is because we have the things in common that me and my partner don't.