New and Frustrated

bugsy

Hi,

I'm new to this whole thing and this experience has been a giant rollercoaster with incredible highs and incredible lows. And while I love it, I need to find a way to deal with the lows before I blow the whole thing up.

Backstory - I've been in a monogamous (and happy) marriage for 15 years. We recently opened our marriage to another couple who have also been married for an extended period of time. We've agreed that the sexual contact will remain between the 4 of us (closed) and primary emotional support will be provided by our primary partners. The four of us make an effort to check in with the opposing spouse on a regular basis, just to make sure that everyone is still ok with the relationship and feels that all the boundaries/needs are being met. So very, very logical and organized.

Where it gets confusing (the backstory) ...

My BF and I identify our relationship as lovers. We share an intense physical and emotional connection. We were only together for a couple of months before he confessed he loved me. (His wife actually told me he was falling in love with me before he did.) We can't seem to get enough of each other with constantly sexting. We also walk together (completely platonically absolutely no sex) most mornings before work since both my BF and I enjoy physical activities. (Our spouses have enjoyed "outsourcing" this aspect of our marriages since they are no longer being asked to hike, bike, etc. When I told my Husband and son I wanted to canoe during a joint camping trip, my son immediately asked for my BF's phone number since he had no desire to canoe.)