70,000 OkCupid Users Just Had Their Data Published

Emm

Stealth Mod
OkCupid is an attractive site to gather data from.
A student and a co-researcher have publicly released a dataset on nearly 70,000 users of the dating site OkCupid, including their sexual turn-ons, orientation, usernames and more. And critics say it may be possible to work out users' real identities from the published data.
All thanks to clueless students and university ethics policies that haven't caught up with modern technology. You'd think "Violates terms of service" would be an automatic "No" when asking for research approval, but if not then "illegal here (being Denmark), carries a 4 month jail term" should be.

I'm glad I'm not using OKC anymore ... :eek:

Ugh. That study was highly unethical. I am not surprised they didn't attempt to publish it in a peer reviewed journal: it would have been torn apart like a steak tossed into a wolverine den. I work in the research field, though not on human studies. Every tech, grad student and researcher I've ever worked with has been extremely aware of the necessities of maintaining high ethical standards. We're all but rabidly dedicated to ensuring our actions are ethically defensible. We are not only accountable to ourselves and our subjects (how could you sleep at night after treating people like that??), but also to our funders, ethics committees, SOP approval boards, the labs we preform our work and analysis in, as well as the university and other groups we may be employed by... but also by public opinion. Things like this make it so much harder to earn trust for legitimate scientific inquiry. I can guarantee the authors of this study will never be hired in my lab! They'd be tarred and feathered and run out of town.

Disgusting.