Finally, there is clarity? Then and now with OnceAndFuture

For most of my life, I studied early modern history. The people whose lives I studied were long dead. All that they left behind was what they had written down. My job was to make sense of their lives great or small. Untangling their pasts became my life's work, and in many cases I wrote the final chapter of the story of someone I could never meet.

Since I decided to reapproach polyamory I've gotten to read a number of the blogs here and I've learned a lot. This blog will be a little different I think. I will be writing the final chapter of one story and hopefully the first chapter of the next. To be specific, the final chapter of five-years-ago me, and the first chapter of my life now.

Five years ago my wife (The Signal) and I had our first and to date last polyamorous relationship. It didn't go well. It was polyamory in the way a car crash is driving. The short story is that The Signal and I were dating K, who was married to E. The longer, truer story is that the six months we dated K were filled with lies, deceit, cheating, emotional manipulation, tears, and heartbreak--and yet, during the very brief breaks in those clouds, the most brilliant and pure love any of the three of us ever experienced. Our relationship was the only time during the eleven years The Signal and I have been together that we considered separating, but, in a real sense that relationship also kept us together.