Poly newbies

Tungachie

Hello! I'm new to the poly community, though not to the concept. Been married almost 13 years to a really great guy; we've had our ups and downs, certainly, but our relationship has always been strong. I have over the years, though, been curious about other relationships. I hated the thought that, since I was married, I'd never experience falling in love again (I was raised with a conservative religious background, so marriage was supposed to mean one person forever). I wondered about other men, what it would be like if I met or dated someone else, etc.

In a strange, beautiful twist of fate, my husband began thinking the same thoughts last year. Neither of us said anything to the other for quite a while, though, because we were each afraid of the other's response. Imagine our surprise when my husband finally said something to me, and I responded with interest instead of instant shutdown!

After a LOT of late night discussions, much research and reading, and time spent mulling over our own thoughts on the matter, we decided we wanted to try polyamory and see what possibilities and adventures it might lead us to. We haven't started any poly relationships yet, partly because we're still so new at this, and partly because our schedules have been crazy lately. We also live in a small rural community where I fear opportunities might be limited. My husband doesn't think this will hinder us overly, but I'm concerned about our chances of meeting like-minded people. If there is a poly community near us, they don't advertise. (Whidbey Island, anyone?)

That's one of the reasons I was so excited to find this forum. Reading other people's stories of how they came to polyamory, what their experiences have been, etc. has been so helpful and encouraging! I look forward to chatting more with everyone, and maybe even meeting other poly people who live in our neck of the woods!

Shatteredsoul