He met someone else fast

NewToPoly

I’m band new to poly so I have no experience with this. So I met this guy and we have spent a lot of time together over the last three weeks. We have hit it off, I really like him a lot and love the time that we got to spend together. He told me multiple times that he wants me to be his and sees the potential for this to be a long term poly relationship.
Just found out this weekend that he has met another guy since and he has been spending a lot of time with him. I’m feeling like I have been displaced from this potential relationship and his attention is now focused on this new guy. It’s like a kid just got a new toy. That new toy is all he wants to spend time with and I have been discarded. I feel rejected by him.
I have reached out to him a few times telling him that I want to talk and to work through things. The only response that I have received is that he will contact me later. That was more than 24 hours ago.
Is this a red flag and a sign of how things will go if we decide that we want to continue to pursue? Has anyone else run into this? How did you handle it? How did you work through it? I know that a lot of communication and bing open with how I feel is extremely important, but also feel like it might be a waste of time and I should let him go even though my gut, heart and instinct say I should continue to try.

GalaGirl

Poly or not? I don't think it is a good idea to rush into making commitments or jump into "going steady" or something. You have only known him 3 weeks, and it sounds like he wants to date others. You could be doing same.

If you reached out and he said he'd get back to you? And it's only been a day? Give it some time and space.

If you don't do well with "nebulous" or "up in the air" things, next time negotiate a time. Like....

"Ok, you will get back to me. How about if I don't hear from you in a week, I call you back then? I'll look forward to your call. "