In mono marriage but considering a triad

naomi1987

Hi, I'm completely new to all of this and this is my first post. Please be kind!

I'm beginning to suspect that I may be poly. I've been married (mostly happily) for 6 years (togther for 15) to a straight man (let's call him Colin). I've never cheated, but several times during the course of our relationship I've developed really strong feelings for other guys (uni friends, work colleagues, etc.). I have never told my husband about these feelings and they usually fizzled out after a few months time.

Now, Colin and I have a lifelong friend that we've known for as long as we've know each other (let's call him James). He was Colin's closest friend at uni, we all lived together in a shared house in third and fourth year (while Colin and I were dating), we stay in each other's houses regularly and he has come on holidays with us before. He and my husband are very similar and get on really well, and I've always had a close bond with James as we share uncannily similar interests and he has always been very sweet to me. A couple of years ago I began to develop very strong feelings for James and I'm now beginning to suspect that I'm falling in love with him. Initially this terrified me and I felt that I was betraying my husband by having these feelings. After a particularly confusing trip to Blackpool with the two of them I decided to try and cut off all contact with James to protect my relationship with my husband. It didn't work and for three months I was miserable, resentful and constantly picking fights with my husband.