New relationship new emotions

GoldenUnicorn

Hi everyone

I’m really new to the poly community and looking for some advice / insight.

As background, I’m currently married but very unhappy and unfulfilled. 2 friends (a couple) have been really helping me out with that and supporting me through a difficult time.

4 weeks ago, we started sleeping together. We had talked about it for a while and dealt with all our concerns about ruining the friendship etc. It was amazing and felt totally natural. We all click well on emotional and sexual levels.

They are brilliant, refer to me as their girlfriend and involve me with as much as they can in their lives.

The problem I have is the emotion when I come home and know they’re still a couple living together. I want to be with them all the time but I can’t, and im envious knowing they are doing ‘couple stuff’ without me. It’s really hard!

How do you deal with this? Or is this a sign that poly life isn’t right for me? I have got so emotionally involved with them both, it feels like a new relationship, but feeling left out when I’m not with them is so difficult to navigate.

Thanks!

Hello GoldenUnicorn,

That is one of the disadvantages to being a unicorn: You are on the "outside" of a couple marriage, you will always be on the outside, and sometimes you will feel like their secondary partner.

It might be of some help if you would divorce your husband, and go to live with that couple -- if they would be willing to have you. But you've only been sleeping with them for four weeks -- maybe this would be too soon for living together?