Sensing resentment of our poly “rules”

leaf90

Hi there. I am relatively new to the scene with my partner of 10 years (married for 5). Last year we broke into the scene of “unicorn hunting," if you will, and have always played together. My wife had never dated or had sexual relationships with women, despite always being attracted to them. So we branched out, seeking play partners for FFM.

More recently, we have branched out on dating where my wife and I can seek out other women 1:1. This sounds like it’s not an uncommon setup - where only I can play with the opposite sex, and my wife can only play with the same sex.

Despite my wife being able to get many more dates with women than I, any time I return from a very rare 1:1 date with a woman, I can tell she’s disappointed that she can’t do the same (i.e., with men). Sometimes our taste in women isn’t aligned, so solo makes more sense.

Some of my hesitancy stems from us being socially monogamous (not out to family, friends). I feel it would be very easy for one of my single friends or family to come across my wife’s profile or see her out with another man. This is something I’d rather we not have to speak about with others.

I’m wanting to be accommodating to my wife. I don’t ever want her to feel resentment toward our setup or me. Can this community help me navigate this and overcome what I understand to be a fairly hypocritical/patriarchal setup?

Honestly... I would never recommend anyone agree to this. It's a recipe for resentment, and if it's already happening NOW, imagine what it will be like in a year or two.

Why is it okay for your single women friends/family/acquaintances to come across your profile or see you on a date with another woman, but not okay for your wife to be seen with a man? That makes zero sense to me. It would make more sense to have the relationship only open for her to see women, and closed for you, if the goal is to appear heterosexual and monogamous.